Often asked: Bourgogne Quelle Region?

Where is Bourgogne in France?

Burgundy Geography, France. Burgundy is located in central eastern France. The region begins a hundred kilometers south from Paris and stretches down to Lyon on 360 kilometers.

What is the capital of Bourgogne Franche Comte?

The capital is Dijon. Dijon, France. In June 2014 French Pres. François Hollande announced a plan to reduce the number of régions in metropolitan France from 21 to 13.

What is the population of Bourgogne Franche Comté?

The Bourgogne – Franche – Comté region covers 47,784 km² and hosts 2.8m inhabitants in 2019 (Eurostat, 2020), being the seconde-to-last densest region in France with 58.5 inhabitants per km².

What is Bourgogne Franche COMT known for?

Bourgogne – Franche – Comté is a region of east-central France, created in 2016 through administrative reorganisation from Burgundy and Franche – Comté. Noted for its rich history and diverse scenery, the region stretches from the rolling Burgundy wine country in the west, to the Jura mountains and Swiss border in the east.

What food is Burgundy famous for?

The most renowned specialties are coq au vin, beef bourguignon, fondue bourguignonne, escargots de Bourgogne, la matelote d’anguille à la bourguignonne (eels stewed in wine sauce), and gougères (cheese puffs).

Is Burgundy and Bourgogne the same?

Is It Burgundy or Bourgogne? You can call it Burgundy, but Bourgogne (pronounced boar-gone) is how it’s referred to in France, and how those in the region would prefer to be known and referenced. Bourgogne is where it all started. This is a small and complicated region with centuries of history.

What department is burgundy in?


Burgundy Bourgogne
Prefecture Dijon
Departments hide 4 Côte-d’Or Saône-et-Loire Yonne Nièvre
• President François Patriat (PS)


What is the capital of occitanie?

Occitanie is a region located in the South of France, formed the merger of two former regions: Midi-Pyrénées and Languedoc-Roussillon. Toulouse is the capital of the region.

How many regions are in France?

France is divided into eighteen administrative regions (French: régions, singular région [ʁeʒjɔ̃]), of which thirteen are located in metropolitan France (on the European continent), while the other five are overseas regions (not to be confused with the overseas collectivities, which have a semi-autonomous status).

What region is Macon France?

Country France
Region Bourgogne-Franche-Comté
Department Saône-et-Loire
Arrondissement Mâcon


What is French Comte?

Comté (or Gruyère de Comté ) ( French pronunciation: ​[kɔ̃. te]) is a French cheese made from unpasteurized cow’s milk in the Franche – Comté traditional province of eastern France bordering Switzerland and sharing much of its cuisine.

Where is Franche Comte in France?

Franche – Comté, historical region and former région of France. As a région, it encompassed the eastern départements of Jura, Doubs, Haute-Saône, and the Territoire de Belfort.

Where in France is the Jura?

The Jura is one of France’s most picturesque regions, bounded by the rolling hills of Burgundy on the west, the Vosges Mountains of Alsace in the north, and the Swiss Lakes (bordering the Swiss Jura ) in the east. This pastoral landscape corresponds roughly with the historic province of Franche-Comté.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *